All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity? How could it be tackled?

Nations worldwide are dealing with the increasing issue of obesity which is a cause of concern for all age groups. This essay will list some reasons of this phenomenon and provide some solutions to this.

One of the reasons that people are becoming overweight these days is that they are eating more junk food, ready meals and convenience food rather than cooking healthy meals at home. This is because many people tend to lead a busy life, so after a long day at work, it is easier to just buy convenience food or get a takeaway. To tackle the issue the government should take steps to increase tax on trans fats, high sugar or unhealthy foods. Therefore, people would think twice about the foods they consume which could lead to them losing weight. To illustrate this, the Singapore government has introduced an increased tax on the sale of fast food, which has led to a decrease in obesity among its citizens.

Another problem that needs to be considered is a lack of exercise. As a result of leading a hectic life with work commitments, many people are just too tired to go to the gym or join a sports club. For example, after work, the vast majority of people prefer to come home and sit in front of the TV. Furthermore, when people have time off they tend to relax rather than go to a gym. One possible solution is for employers to consider the well being of their employees and offer in-house company gyms or special incentives, such as discounts to join sports or fitness clubs. If this is implemented, it would have a positive effect on people’s health and a reduction in weight gain.

In conclusion, being overweight is an increasing issue because of consumption of fast food, convenience foods and not enough exercise due to work commitments. The government needs to look at taxing fast food and companies should set up incentives for gym, sports or fitness clubs.