All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills but others think having a range of subjects is better for childrens future. Discuss both sides an]d give your opinion.

There is no doubt that a parent want their children to have the best opportunities in life. However, while some people believe that studying an array of the subjects is better for their offspring’s future, others claim that it is skills that should be taught in schools. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives on the matter.

On the one hand, having a range of subjects to choose from gives a child a number of opportunities. Firstly, they can identify their strengths and weaknesses. For example, if a young pupil does not do well in a math class, they can still achieve success studying biology or the languages. Secondly, a wider selection of subjects provides children with a chance to discover their passions. They can find out if they are fascinated with history, chemistry or physics and later make a better choice of their future career. And finally, studying various subjects not only broadens the horizons of younger generation, but also makes them better communicators able to maintain a conversation on any topic, therefore, making them more intelligent and versatile.

On the other hand, it is practical skills that we apply in both our personal and professional lives. For this reason, many people believe that schools should focus on giving children a chance to hone their expertise in different spheres rather than study a number of subjects. Mastering a skill, such as calculating, drawing a map, or writing a code, will provide a child with a valuable chance to secure a better position at work and, probably, become successful much faster than the previous generations. Soft skills are also of no less importance, than hard skills. So, by concentrating on the practical aspect of education instead of giving broader knowledge on different subjects, schools forge a path for youngsters’ success.

In conclusion, whereas knowledge of different subjects is crucial for discovering a child’s passions as well as strengths and weaknesses, skills taught at school can provide them with great opportunities for success.