Some people believe that if people are allowed to work after the age of 60, it could cause problems. Do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that post-retirement working could cause problems. Although for some it may seem that work after retirement age could have negative effects such as poor performance and health issues, I disagree with that and believe that continuing work could be beneficial and even have positive effects on the health of the people.

Opponents of post-retirement work believe that such employees could cause issues at the workplace and that older ones may cause shortages of work vacancy. Majority of experienced workers with the years of work behind could loose their best performance after the certain age and become useless. As most of people face age-related health issues within aging, they often could no longer continue their work due to their inability to keep good work performance, and only create problems at the workplace instead of moving the company forward. Moreover, such decisions may lead to the shortage of job vacancies. Since the cycle of replacement does not work fully, younger generation may face obstacles in finding suitable jobs as there is lack of that, and seniors are keeping to work instead of retiring.

However, I totally disagree with that view and believe that work after the retirement age could be beneficial and rational option to choose. With getting older, workers have the right to leave their job and follow more leisure lifestyle and receive pension regularly from the government. Most of the employees do that, and after a such decision majority of retirees feel isolated and even loose the happiness of living. Work is the place of social interaction and when people reduce it drastically and follow isolated lifestyle, they could gain problems with health and feel more than depressed as they no longer have active communication and cognitive challenges as before. Furthermore, with the lack of the physical activity, it is arduous for the elder people to sustain good health conditions and given that workers mostly engage in physically active work, working post- retirement age is a safe option to choose not only because of maintenance of the social interaction, but also due to good health condition.

In conclusion, although some may consider work after retirement age as a negative thing, I disagree with that view and believe that post-retirement work is beneficial in terms of physical cal and mental health.