All parents want the best opportunity for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children specific skills but others think that having a range of subjects is better for a child’s future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is common knowledge that every parent wishes the best for their kids. However, they split into two groups: One that believes that schools should provide kids with specific subjects that will have a great effect on their children’s future, meanwhile the other trusts the general skills knowledge concept. In this essay I will state my opinion and discuss both sides of this argument.

Learning specific subjects in school leads to many potential benefits, including less homework, better student engagement, less stress, and increase in performance of output of students. For instance, when a pupil is invested in the studying process, one doesn’t complain about homework, because it matches the interest of the student.

On the contrary, learning specific subjects in school gives knowledge, however without teaching children skills, that knowledge can’t be applied. The skills in schools are necessary for the character development of a person. For example, you can know all the theory of sales, however you can’t actually sell anything to noone, because of your lack of communication skills.

In conclusion, there are advantages in both methods of learning, however I don’t think that schools should be split into subject based schools and skill based ones. When you are getting top notch advanced knowledge in school, you are just getting indoctrination, whilst when you are learning skills only, you can’t properly use them without actually learning a bit of theory previously. So in my opinion, schools should both be teaching skills and subjects that students require for their future. Kids should be able to observe the information, and avoid indoctrination.