All tgose cars that burn fossil fuels should be banned and replaced with electric cars.Do you agree or disagree?

There are those who believe that cars which use non-renewable energy sources ought to be prohibited and substituted by cars with electric engines. This essay disagrees with the statement because such ban may have an adverse impact on world economies, while the manufacture of batteries for electric cars is an expensive and polluting process.

The primary reason against a ban of traditional cars is that it might lead to dire consequences in global economies. Some countries depend heavily on oil and gas export, required for petrol production. Hence, the ban will result in stagnation of industrial and commercial processes, with thousands of people being made redundant. For example, the oil extracting industry based in the west of Kazakhstan provides work places for a significant majority of people in the region and the closure of oil off-shore factories will have a devastating effect on the lives of local people.

Another issue to take into consideration is the way accumulators for electric cars are produced. First, a scarce metal, namely lithium, which is extracted only in Chilie and Argentina, is involved in the process. The rarity of the metal adds to the cost of the final product. Therefore, costly lithium batteries make the price of the electric car a lot higher than that of petrol-driven automobiles. Second, the process itself is detrimental in terms of air pollution. For instance, producing a vehicle with an electric engine emits approximately 20 tons of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere, which is twice as much as that when manufacturing a conventional car.

In conclusion, I take the view that the ban of traditional cars can be untimely and harmful for many industries, while the production of electric cars needs to be enhanced in order to conform to ecological standards.