All university students should do some voluntary work to help the local community. To what do you agree or disagree?

There is a phenomenon where students from all universities ought to join voluntary work in their local society. I believe it is essential to maintain a balanced approach to voluntary work.

On the one side, there are some drawbacks for students who want to complete the charity work for citizens of their own area. One major disadvantage is putting their health condition at risk. That is to say, it can cause in harming physical and mental well-being, especially if the labor is demanding. For instance, a volunteer working with children in crisis situations became emotionally exhausted and struggled with feelings of depression. Another negative aspect of volunteerism for local population is time commitment, which means that students who combine their life and voluntary work. Obviously the students need to balance their personal responsibilities with their desire to help others. In particular, student volunteers in hospitals often work long hours, assisting patients and providing support to staff, which can require significant time. These two main reasons why students volunteer to assist local citizens are believed to have negative impacts.

Nonetheless, it is often claimed accomplishing humanitarian work has some benefits for students. In the first place, charity work plays an important role in career advancement. In other words, volunteering often helps students gain experience in specific fields, enriching their resumes and making them more attractive to employers. For example, a student volunteering at a hospital as a medical assistant gains valuable experience, which helps when applying for medical school or healthcare jobs. Moreover, engaging in doing volunteerism can improve personal development. To be specific, students participating in charity work enhance skills such as communication and teamwork. Particularly, students volunteering as a teacher for youngers boost their communication skills by explaining complex ideas in simpler terms. These two factors are the main influences on students from all universities when it comes to doing volunteer work for local citizens.

To sum up, taking everything into account, I therefore conclude that also it is not important for students to engage in volunteer work due to its potential impact on their health and the significant amount of time it takes. They should also consider benefits such as career advancement as well as personal development.