All university students should do some voluntary work to help the local community. To what do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether it is essential for all university undergraduates to volunteer in voluntary projects benefitting the local community. I agree with this, although the students would need to arrange their schedules properly.

Those against the given viewpoint argue that not all students are able to volunteer. This is because they have more important priorities, such as completing school work, doing part-time jobs, or finding internships. The benefits of these activities are clear, as students can complete their degrees with good results, earn money, or prepare for the real world of work after graduation. Meanwhile, volunteering for community-oriented projects may not offer the same practical gains, therefore deemed not important enough to for all students to spend their time on.

Nonetheless, I argue that voluntary work has a multitude of benefits and can be arranged for all students. With regard to the former, by volunteering, university students could enhance a wide range of skills and develop positive qualities. For instance, by teaching disadvantaged children in the local area, or feeding the homeless, they could learn about the less fortunate situations, becoming grateful for what they have and inspired to make a contribution to their community. In other words, the future graduates would be not only proficient in their majors, but also guided by positive social values. Finally, as local voluntary projects are often varied in length and workload, students should be able to choose the option that suits their skills and schedules. For instance, many volunteer in their free time during the school year, while others opt to participate during their seasonal breaks.

In conclusion, I agree that all students should do some amount of voluntary work that benefits the local community. This would have a positive impact on their development, shaping them into individuals with a sense of social responsibility.