All university students should do some voluntary work to help the local community. To what do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether volunteering in projects for the benefit of the local community is advisable for all university students. I completely agree with this, as will be shown in the following essay.

Many disagree with the given viewpoint as they believe there are little benefits to it. The main reason here is that students should instead focus on completing their degrees and getting work experience by doing part-time jobs or seeking internships. This would help them to get proper qualifications and prepare for joining the real world of working after graduation. By contrast, volunteering is fundamentally unnecessary as it is unlikely to offer such career-oriented benefits. Thus, those who want to volunteer should get to do so, but this should not apply to all students.

Notwithstanding the above argument, I contend that volunteering is possible for all students so long as the workload is properly managed. The most important benefit of volunteering is that it teaches students the value of giving back to society and raises their awareness of social issues. For instance, by teaching young children in poor communities, or helping feeding the homeless, undergraduates can learn about the harsh reality of life in certain disadvantaged areas, becoming more grateful for their current conditions and inspired to make a contribution to the world. Many have in fact come up with innovative ideas and businesses to address practical social problems thanks to such experiences. Obviously, this does not mean that the students should expect utilitarian benefits from volunteering, which fundamentally defeats its selfless purpose. However, the experience can be meaningful in a multitude ways, and all students should arrange their schedule to do some of it during their free time, or seasonal breaks.

In conclusion, I believe that all university students should do some voluntary work for the betterment of the local community. This is oftentimes feasible, as long as the students choose the proper time and type of work to take part in.