All university undergraduate courses should include a period of time spent studying abroad or doing a work placement. Do you think the advantages of this would outweigh the disadvantages?

Studying in another country or doing a work internship has been suggested to be added in all university undergraduate courses. Even though there are some drawbacks, I strongly believe that adding those extracurricular activities can bring more benefits to every students.

Having a international exchange or working per season will be benefical for their development. First of all, they can learn new things because another country may use a different approach than the country of origin. For instance, while in France they learn by doing debate sessions, China may taught the same subject with experimental practice. Furthermore, students will be able to meet people in the country, which leads to expand your connections. Both situations are also applied in the industry sector, where you can apply the knowledge in class into real practice at the workplace. This will help them to get a job easily after finishing the course with the acquired experience, even more in another country.

However, there are some disadvantages that concerns people when implementing these programmes. Students can get distracted by doing recreative activities rather than focusing on classes, for example, traveling around the country instead of doing homework. Similarly, a working placement could reduce grades if the job is too demanding, where students prioritize their duties instead of homework. However, I believe that both issues can be solved by following up every student with a tracking program until the period ends.

In conclusion, including both programs in universities can bring a huge knowledge and contacts to every student for their professional future, even if there are some concerns in the process.