All university undergraduate courses should include a period of time spent studying abroad or doing a work placement. Do you think the advantages of this would outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that time for studying overseas or doing internship should be incorporated into all higher education programs. Although this trend is costly, I believe that its benefits are more significant as it exposes students to cultural diversity and practical skills as well as opportunity to study in world-class universities.

One primary disadvantage of inculcating a period of time for studies abroad and work placement in degree courses offered in universities is the high cost of relocation. This means that students who are moving to other countries for either studies or practical training are required to raise a substantial amount of money to cater for their travelling, accommodation, and daily expenses while in their host countries. For instance, students from Kenya moving to Germany for professional placements are needed to present a bank statement worth four million as evidence of their financial ability for the program. Thus, its financial requirements only favor students from wealthier backgrounds.

Despite this drawback, relocating abroad for learning or work experience is significantly beneficial. Firstly, undergraduate students are admitted to world-class training institutions that are limited or hyper-competitive in their home countries. As a result, learners get access to advanced research facilities which equip them with vast knowledge making them more advantageous in their nations. Additionally, students become more adaptable and gain cross-cultural communication skills that are invaluable to employers making them competitive in the job market. For example, graduates in Uganda who went to Harvard university, which is one of the world’s prestigious university were highly considered for different positions in government.

In conclusion, while this program is extremely expensive to most students, its advantages which includes cultural exchanges and access to advanced learning institutions are more substantial in the long term.