Although countries with long average working hours are economically successful, This often has some negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In recent years, some countries are increasingly working longer hours on an average, owing to their economical growth. But, it is widely argued that long average working has profound negative impacts on social life than the positive effects it has on national and personal growth. I concur with the former view that it definitely affects individuals’ personal life.

To begin with, recent studies on working for more than an accepted average time shows that, there is substantial risk of mental stress, heart diseases and chronic pains in those individuals working longer hours. For example, a person working a desk job for more than 40 hours per week, tend to get neck and back pain and are prone to heart diseases. Although, one might argue that, more work hours equals better renumeration and hence better standard of living. But in contrast, it poor work-life balance leads to unhappiness and bad health.

In addition to the above issues, pro-longed job hours lead to inadequate family time and personal time. To illustrate further, without active routine like physical fitness and time with family, people will eventually become depressed. Eventually, leading to demotivation and a regretful society. As argued by the other view that, over-time working can lead to financial growth of individuals and nation but with people who are not energetic and unhealthy it is highly unlikely to see the proper benefits of it.

In conclusion, even though long work hours seem to produce national level economic and financial growth, it has adverse effects like working class people becoming more prone to heart and mental illness and hugely impacting happiness due to reduced family and personal space. I strongly believe that, people should have balanced work life to be part of nation’s growth as well as their self growth.