Although most people are richer than in the past, modern life seems very stressful, and the number of people suffering from stress is at record levels. What are the main causes of stress in modern life, and how could stress be reduced?

Nowadays most people are richer than a generation ago. Today, life seems very stressful, and more and more people are suffering from stress. This problem affects both adults and children. This essay will look at the reasons for this, and propose some solutions.

One of the biggest problems is social comparison. Most people concern about a place and identity in society, leading them to not be themselves and causing stress. For example, you are a star footballer in a big team. Your team lost to your team’s biggest rival, social media compare your team and your team’s rival, so you seem very stressful. However, there is still a solution by focusing on you next game play and not pay attention to comparison.

Another big problem that people are suffering with is debt. Even though most people have salary, they tend to spend money more than their salary. For instance, they get salary from your company, You have two options to keep this money or go shopping luxury things. Most of them tend to go shopping, so they finally have debt. Every problem has solutions, this problem’s solution is to keep your money and don’t spend too much money.

To sum up, people are suffering from stress, due to the debt, and social comparison. This is a serious problem, although we can solve problem by not spending too much money and not paying attention to comparison. My view is that main responsibility for solving the problem lies on making your own decision.