Although some people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the growing population or to develop business and develop the economy of the city. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people appriciate having public parks in their cities, yet, it is also often said that this areas could have provided more space for residential areas due to the growing population. Moreover, this space could be also used for business and economical purposes. I strongly dissagree with the idea of that, and believe that green-areas in towns should be saved.

To begin with, public parks are the main place for spending time in the open air for many people, especially for students. Visiting parks is a great way to relax since they are significantly quieter compared to urban areas. It is scientificaly proven that going on a walk to a park or a forest can decrease general anxiety. Besides that, places with a large amount of trees have less polluted air then in other parts of the city.

Talking about an increasing population, it is certainly not the best idea to destroy parks in order to build residential areas. There is no denying that governments should work on providing more accomodations. It is also economicaly beneficial to develop more businesses. However, wiser idea would be to construct more buildings in suburbs to avoid overcrowded city centres. Obviously, society tend to choose their appartments based on it’s location. That means that it is preferable to develope a better infrastructure in suburbs, rather than to try sqeezing more buildings in towns by getting rid of public parks.

To conclude, green areas are an important part of every city and town, that can also have a good influence on person’s mental health. This space should not be used as a residantial area, as the population problem can be solved in a different way.