Although some people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the growing population or to develop business and develop the economy of the city. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, many people appreciate the value of local parks. While some individuals assert that this space could be more beneficial for other purposes, such as housing areas for growing population of the city or to foster businesses, I totally disagree with this view, and believe that public parks are essential part of the city and provide important environmental benefits.

To begin with, eliminating green space would have detrimental consequences on individuals’ well-being, as public parks are the place where local people rest, gather together and relax from city noise. Without parks people would be forced to choose other places, which could result in people’s dissatisfaction. For example, a Botanical Garden in Astana remains one of the most prevalent places among local citizens. This is because this place is calm and walking around local biodiversity and breathing fresh air can significantly improve one’s mood.

Furthermore, public parks are not only beneficial for society, but also plays a crucial role in boosting local economy. This is because visitors usually spend numerous money on nearby shops and restaurants. For example, Central Park in New York attracts millions of visitors every year, leading to increased spending in nearby restaurants, hotels, and shops. As a result, local businesses earn higher revenues and create more job opportunities for residents.

To summarize, although eliminating public parks can cultivate economy by building more residential areas, public parks remain essential for public health and community well-being, and their long-term social value outweighs the short-term economic gain.