Although some people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the growing population or to develop business and develop the economy of the city. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people value public parks, while others argue that such space can be better used for other vital purposes. While some concerns about clearing public space are valid, I strongly agree that this is an effective approach for mitigating housing crises and facilitating economic productivity.

One major advantage of clearing public zones is the additional land for business activity. Due to the densely populated and confined space, metropolitan cities, which are economic hubs of many countries, often suffer from expensive land prices. Removing public parks in the city center therefore can allow businesses to establish offices and department stores at a cheaper cost. This is clearly illustrated by Tokyo, where land has become more affordable following the eradication of public spaces. Consequently, the revenue of the private sector has risen, and the government has become able to raise investment on healthcare and education due to an expanded tax base.

Another significant benefit is its contribution to mitigating housing crises. In many countries, the growing rural-urban migration and the population have resulted in a housing shortage in large cities. Allowing construction companies to build apartments in public spaces can raise the supply of housing. Toronto and Vancouver, for example, have reduced rent and property prices by opening up space for construction companies. This financial saving can be particularly crucial for low-income classes, which frequently struggle to find affordable accommodation.

Admittedly, a lack of public space in cities may limit resident’s opportunity to do regular exercise and socialize with their communities. However, this issue can effectively be addressed by building public areas in suburbs. In China and South Korea, improvements in road infrastructure and reliable public transport systems allow people to commute conveniently to such areas.

In conclusion, although removing public space has certain consequences, its advantages far outweigh its drawbacks. Given the intensifying need for housing and economic development, not only is this approach desirable, but it is also essential.