An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online? (repeated most years)

In today’s globalized world, the number of online shoppers is constantly rising. While some are of the opinion that this is the most convenient method of purchasing, others believe that traditional, in-person shopping is more promising. This essay will analyze the advantages as well as the drawbacks of online shopping.

One major benefit of purchasing on websites is that it alleviates the hassle of searching. Through browsing, individuals can easily access desired items and buy them in just one click, thereby avoiding traffic journeys and hours of hunting. For instance, if one were to go in-person shopping, they could spend hours searching for a specific item that is not even present in stores. This suggests online ordering as a more convenient method forcustomers, saving time and effort whilepurchasing the products wanted. In addition, selling over the internet has made it possible for companies to expand globally. For instance, a known cosmetic brand called Huda Beauty, founded by a woman residing in Dubai, offers a range of makeup products popular with females worldwide. An interview with the founder suggested that online selling has expanded her audience drastically, which further impacted her income positively. Therefore, it is clearly shown how online shopping eases the purchasing of items across borders, thereby benefiting not only the customers but also the companies.

However, although online shopping can enhance the growth of marketing, in-person advertising is seen to be more crucial. For example, posters and offers displayed in stores grab the attention of shoppers more effectively. In fact, research suggests that the structure of many stores is related to advertisement. An example of this is the presentation of essential items at the checkout counter, which influences the customer to makefurther purchases. This indicates that in-store shopping is of more benefit to companies in terms of suggesting unwanted but desirable products to buyers, thereby increasing overall sales. Another great advantage of real-life shopping is the entertainment it offers, especially to shopaholics. A recent study conveyed that the majority of people enjoy in-person shopping extensively, describing it as a pleasant experience that increases dopamine levels. Hence, traditional purchasing is noted to be a major contributor to happiness for a great proportion of the population.

Overall, while both methods of purchasing are advantageous to firms, the preference lies in the hands of the customers. People who regard shopping as a task benefit more from online browsing, while in-person shopping is reserved for those who find contentment in it.