Anumber of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at an institution or organisation as part of their programme. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of course requirement?

These days, it is commonly seen that some universities or colleges mandate students to acquire unpaid internships at companies or organizations as a part of their curriculum. This practice leads to both advantages and disadvantages, which will be discussed in this essay.

Undeniably, a no-salary apprenticeship offers some benefits to both learners themselves. First, students are provided an opportunity to gain real-world experience. Unpaid internships provide students with hands-on experience in their field study, in which they can apply theoretical knowledge to real-life projects. As a result, students will be more confident and competent, improving their postgraduate employment. For example, a marketing intern at an agency can gain more practical insights into market research or marketing strategies. Moreover, interns will broaden their professional networks, which is helpful for their career development. Apprenticeship provides students a chance to interact with other professionals in their field, which can be an invaluable lesson to access practical skills and knowledge, indirectly affecting their employability post-graduation.

Despite the advantages it offers, unpaid internships do present some challenges that directly have a negative impact on student’s life. The obvious drawback of this trend is interns may not receive the benefits for the work, including compensation, salary or reward. Since students will not earn anything, it places a financial strain on them, especially those from low-income backgrounds who may already struggle with tuition fees and living expenses. As a consequence, interns will experience stress and even burn-out syndrome, which can negatively impact on academic performance as well as overall well-being. In addition, there is a chance that interns will be exploited by the employees. Some companies will take advantage of unpaid apprenticeships to assign students with errands or tasks that do not contribute to their development. This will diminish the value of the internship and lead to dissatisfaction or disillusionment. When the opportunities are unpaid, they may cause students to feel demotivation.

In conclusion, while the unpaid courses offer valuable lessons for students, including hands-on experience and networking opportunities; they also present challenges such as financial burden on students and the risk of exploitation.