Around the world many adults are working from home, and more children are begining to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think it is possitive or negative development?

In this era, the advance development of technology has led society to easily procure cheap gadgets that can assist their activities. Thus, the trend of staying at home instead of traveling to do activities has been on the rise. This essay will delve into some reasons why it is believed that working from home brings negative impacts.

To begin with, this latest development coming from technology can affect people’s health negatively. By doing activities such as working, studying, and even shopping from home, people are more likely to stay in one place while staring at their computers or laptops. Sometimes, they may even complete those tasks while laying and lazing around on their beds. Combined with eating meals and snacks as they work, inactivity makes people’s bodies sustain elements that may be harmful and create ailments: high cholesterol level, diabetes, and hypertension. In this case, staying at home for activities can decrease people’s health instead.

Furthermore, such activities can make people distracted. When they stay at home, they tend to do activities by themselves without any proper supervision, especially if they need to stay in a place without noise disturbance. Thus, as the situations get boring, and they need entertainment, it is easy for people to stray from their tasks by opening other applications on their gadgets. Students who study in their bedrooms to avoid crowded houses, for example, can play games on their smartphones while also listening to the teachers’ explanations on Zoom or Google Meet through their laptops. Hence, the focus that has shifted toward their games will make pupils unable to fully comprehend the materials and lessons.

To conclude, despite the seemingly progressive movement resulting from technological advancements, it is still true that the recent preference to work from home can still bring drawbacks, e.g., the lack of a healthy lifestyle and focus on finishing tasks.