Around the world, many animal species have become extinct. Some people believe that countries and individuals must try to solve this problem. Others believe that concentrating on problems of human beings is more important than those concerning species. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that many animals are on the brink of extinction. Some opine that it is an urgent need for governments and individuals to take action against this issue while others believe that societal issues related to human beings should be more prioritized than those concerning species. This essay would discuss both viewpoints and argue for the former.

On the one hand, some opponents believe that poverty and human well being would be more pressing issues that governments should concentrate on. In many underdeveloped countries, people suffer from the shortage of food, and insufficient health care. There is no doubt that the tight budget of governments should direct to subsidize their population’s basic needs and upgrade medical infrastructure because it is more pressing and urgent than animal conservation. However, even in such a shortage of monetary support, people still can do a lot to help minimize the animal habitat destruction.

On the other hand, I strongly subscribe to the idea that there is a need for countries and individuals to be involved in protecting endangered animals. This is because animals play a vital role in our ecological chain. The vanishment of a species could lead to the loss of ecological balance and affect directly to economic values. For instance, the decline in the number of sardines, a small prey species, could threaten other larger species like whales and commercially valuable species like salmon. As a result, this adversely affects the entire marine ecosystems and leads to the huge loss of economic income. In addition, the extinction of some key species could pose a threat to human well-being. For example, the reduction in population of predators like owls or snakes can be attributed to the overpopulation of rats which causes a serious spread disease – plague.

In conclusion, animal conservation is not only to help prevent animal extinction, but it is also to protect human life from health diseases and economic loss. Therefore, it should go along with other problems of human beings in national and individual efforts.