Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a prevailing trend in an abundance of nations around the world that rural people are going to cities to live. As a result, fewer people remain in countrysides. This essay will argue that this is a negative phenomenon because not only would this cause the overpopulation of cities, but it would also result in a lack of an adequate rural workforce.

One compelling rationale to refute the migration of individuals living in villages to cities is the excessive increase in the number of people choosing to accommodate in cities. That is to say, when the population rises suddenly in urban areas, many economic crises, such as the escalation of the cost of living and the growth of the unemployment rate, can occur. Tehran is a good instance of a city where millions of those living in rural areas migrated there, which caused overpopulation.

Another reason why this kind of migration is a negative development is the harm that it causes to some specific types of professions, which are necessary and mostly available in rural areas. In other words, the majority of some specific workers, including peasants and ranchers, need to stay in rural zones to pave the way for the agricultural advancements of any country. If the number of them diminishes, the issue of the provision of basic goods, like farming crops and meat, would contribute to more economic and security ramifications.

In conclusion, the more the number of people moving to urban areas to live, the greater the possibility of economic shortages in both rural and urban areas.