Artificial intelligence will soon replace teachers in the classroom Do you agree with this statement? What is an alternative to traditional face-to-face teaching?

In our fast-paced society with continuous edge-cutting advancements in technology, it can be seen that very soon the accustomed to us educational environment can be exposed to the same modernizations. Despite this, i’m inclined to believe that artificial intelligence won’t be able to supersede teachers in school. Instead, we should consider the augmentation of already known to us teaching approaches, such as usage of the online platforms.

Education is an integral and crucial constituent of prosperity of society, so the overriding teachers’ influence on the efficiency of educational system can’t be overestimated. This emphasize the importance to take into consideration all standards to which every teacher should live up to in order to be able to provide high-quality classes. Not only does this occupation imply the skill to properly represent material, so some of the students could grasp it, but it requires the knowledge of how to communicate with people and find personal approach to every individual, what partially depends on our capability to express empathy and understand human psychology. Artificial intelligence, in its turn, is deprived from aforementioned qualities. To maintain this point, the Columbia university has conducted study, where the first group of students was taught by real teacher, and the second by artificial intelligence, respectively. Eventually, the second group has performed substantially lower level of knowledge, what was explained by the scientists by inability of computer to adapt to the students individual speed of assimilation information.

At the same time, In order to improve the effectiveness of educational system, we should address the subject from the other side and try to change the format of teaching. With the modern accessibility to the internet, the most convenient way to substitute face-to-face model of obtaining education is to use various online platforms. Their advantages are expressed in simple representations of information that allow a person to learn with the explicit easiness. Simultaneously, this formats are comprised of the guidance of a real teacher who gives feedbacks and conducts online lessons. For example, in 2020-2022 years, due the pandemic most of the schools were forced to switch to the online format. In this way, students managed to sustain their academic plan.

To conclude, the state-of-the-art artificial intelligence isn’t qualified enough to play a direct role in provision of knowledge because of its scarcity of affinity to the real human interactions and understanding of the divergence of people’s comprehension. But we shouldn’t negate and underestimate other possibilities of which our century enables us, using online platforms as alternative method of acquiring knowledge.