Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by few people that artists should have freehand in expressing their views in order to enhance their creativity. I agree to this statement to a certain extent, as creativity knows no bounds and artists should be entitled to adequate freedom. However, the expressed thoughts and ideas should be within the boundaries of moral ethics.

Art in any form, such as painting, music, theatre intend to depict a perspective to the broader audience. This has in the past served as both eye openers as well as influenced a lot of minds to various changes. For example, Equal rights for women, rights for the socially oppressed, inclusion and diversity of varied forms have been expressed in many such art forms eventually taking shape to the extent it is today. This trigger to people’s thoughts and acceptance has influenced even laws of the land. Thus, “Art” undoubtedly is a key form of expression and artists should be given a freehand to be able to express their thoughts without limitations around any given subject.

However, the artists should be bound by moral and social values and ensure that their works are not triggers for social unrest. The freedom offered is the freedom of expression, which could be expressed by the artist, further debated by the recipients and perspectives sought. Freedom of expression, does not mean freedom of “being right”. For instance, in recent times, due to the larger reach that artists enjoy, since their works can be published online, they should act with more responsibility. Without that check, the public could be faced with dire consequences as a result of “freedom”.

To conclude, while I believe that artists should be given adequate liberty in expressing their work, however, they should act within certain set boundaries, realizing that greater freedom calls for greater responsibility.