Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that artists need more freedom to express their thoughts and ideas. Personally, I completely agree with this view.

There are two main reasons why some people oppose offering more freedom to artists. One reason is that the unlimited nature of literature can cause many dangers. For example, some works carrying oppositional ideologies like “Xa Nu forest” by Nguyen Ngoc, which intentionally eliminate Vietnamese culture, are a threat to the government of Vietnam. Furthermore, a person’s actions and thoughts may be influenced by the ideas in one or more works. Thus, many people fear that toxic works can negatively affect reader’s psychology and behavior. For instance, the song “Grooming sunday” is supposedly the catalyst for a series of suicides, and it was banned in many places.

On the other hand, I believe that freedom plays an important role in developing an artist’s creativity. Firstly, the fact that art is unlimited and the freedom makes artists more confident to show their works. For example, Lolita has been a controversial book for many years since its release because it refers to pedophilia and is romanticized when told from the offender’s perspective. However, academics evaluate this work because of its message and how the author exploited the problem. Secondly, giving artists the freedom to create works is a great way to introduce the country and the culture of the artist. Consequently, this activity can help artists create more and more values for their country, such as Pride & Prejudice, which is a famous novel that depicted a glamorous and law-filled England and how women in this period face problems in marriage, morality and misconceptions.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that freedom plays an important role in an artist’s development and creativity.