Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather --than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

In contemporary society, some individuals love watching international movies more than locally made ones which might be due to their poor graphic effects and the artists’ low technical know-how. While the idea of giving financial aid to local film industries has been suggested, my essay will expatiate more on the reasons why foreign movies have a greater appeal to people than local films, as well as why government should provide financial assistance to the national movie industry.

To begin with, there are various compelling reasons why individuals show more preference to foreign films. Firstly, their movies are always of high quality. The international producers aret top-notch in the area of the cinematography, as well as the professional skills usually displayed by their artists. most of their products as regard visual effect, cannot be compared with the locally made movies. Furthermore, the opportunity to see international actors and actresses in films are more appealing to the millions of fans all over the world. Consequently, driving people attention away from the movies made at the national level. Additionally, their ability to produce different genres with outstanding story-telling give them the edge over their local counterparts, as people love to see and show emotions when watching, and these attributes make them the best.

Admittedly, for the local movies to compete with the international counterpart, government funding is so crucial.There are many benefits that come from this assistance, one of them is that, more advanced and sophisticated equipments will be purchased which will automatically stimulate high production quality and enhanced the visual effects of the movies. Moreover, with more financial support, more training courses will be organized in order to enhance artists’ productivity. Another benefit that comes from government monetary aid is that, there will be more job opportunities for citizens. With the increase prevalent rate of unemployment in the society, more people will be gainfully employed. For instance, graduates of theatre and arts from various universities, will be able to practice their professions, which will inadvertently improve their standard of living. Furthermore, when the country is producing more high standard movies, this boost the country’s economy, as more viewers will pay to watch them. As a result, more income will be generated.

In conclusion, although people give less priority to watching national movies due to their low production qualities and poor storylines. However, with more government backing, especially in the area of finances, the locally produced films will be able to compete with their international colleagues.