As a result of globalization, it is impossible to succeed if you cannot speak one foreign language. Do you think everyone must learn at least one foreign language?

We live in an age of advanced technology, and globalization is an almost unstoppable force that has been enhanced by the technological developments of recent years, particularly the Internet and the social media with which we now engage daily. On the basis of this convenience alone, it seems essential for everyone to speak at least one foreign language, and I think I can guess which one would come to mind for most people: English. … In learning English, we also learn about those places where it is spoken and about the cultures of the people who speak it. When we learn about our neighbors, whether they are next door or halfway around the world, we become more capable and more responsible members of society.

There is another major advantage to learning foreign languages, and that is their link to the world of technology. These days, we can find any information we want online instead of reading a dozen books, as people did in the past. If you want to access the technology of the future, you would be well served to learn its lingua franca, which is increasingly English. Understanding foreign languages can also have a more direct association with technology, especially when it comes to comprehending the work of tech pioneers and the reports on their discoveries that are written in English.

To sum up, the nearly countless advantages and competencies gained from the pursuit of foreign languages serve us well in our journey toward success, particularly given today’s ubiquitous force of globalization.