As computers are being used more and more in education, there will be soon no role for teachers in classroom. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that technological advancements have revolutionized many aspects of our lives, raising the question of whether computers will replace teachers. While acknowledging the reasons for this thinking, I would argue that teachers still have an indispensable role to play in the classroom.

Granted, it is understandable why some people advocate the replacement of teachers with artificial intelligence. The primary reason is that in light of the proliferation of state-of-the-art applications, bombarding students with countless lessons and lectures ranging from almost all subjects, they are now enabled to learn and study without the presence of teachers. However, this perspective fails to factor in the validity of these lessons as inauthentic materials and lessons are omnipresent. If what they learn is not chosen carefully, it will take a toll on their knowledge development.

The argument in favor of teachers still playing an integral role in classrooms is further strengthened by the fact that teachers not only can impart knowledge but they can also instill in students human qualities that robots can hardly replicate. For example, students can learn how to respect older people and their peers, how to empathize with those who are miserable, and after all, how to be human. These traits cannot be fully understood with the tutorials from computers, which, by its nature, do not possess any human traits. Aside from this, if there exists no role of teachers in the classroom, it may turn out to be a mess and chaos as robots at present cannot manage the classroom properly. Therefore, students may not learn but they play games or freely converse with their friends instead, thus leading to an effective learning environment.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for extolling the idea that computers will substitute for teachers, I would contend that teachers are still crucial in classroom settings, given that they can teach students human qualities comprehensively and manage the classroom more effectively.