AS COMPUTERS TRANSLATE QUICKLY AND ACCURATELY, SOME PPL THINK THAT LEARNING A FOREIGN LANGUAGE IS A WASTE OF TIME. TO WHAT EXTENT DO U AGREE OR DISAGREE?v

It is often argued that if computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time? I believe that despite speed and quality of technologies we should learn foreign languages. In the sense that modern technologies sometimes cannot help us.

Firstly, in terms of translating modern technologies can help people almost everywhere to communicate with foreigners. People can easily translate with text or with voice chat, which is very useful and cozy for individuals who travel to other country. Moreover, it is impossible for individuals to learn over 7,000 languages. With the help of modern translators, they will not have to learn all these languages, they can translate them faster with their gadgets. In addition, today many companies are trying to create headphones powered by AI, which can automatically translate foreign languages. It means that soon individuals will not have to spend their time for learning languages.

However, as unfortune as it is today many technologies cannot work without internet, which means that people cannot use them if they located in locations where there is no connection to the internet. The price of these technologies is very high and not people can afford them. Sometimes, people have to write long texts to translate something which is very long and it will take a lot of time. Another reason is that, in some countries people communicate with dialects which cannot be translated by gadgets. If people learn foreign languages, they can communicate with foreigners better. Also, learning languages can help people to improve their brain productivity, if people learn more things their brain work more efficiently and allow people memorize faster.

In summary, it is argued that if technologies can quickly translate, learning foreign languages is a waste of time? I think that learning foreign languages is not a waste of time. Because, in some situation technologies cannot translate and support communication, it is better for individuals to study and learn languages which is very useful and better than translators. If we learn languages our brain begins work as a translator.