AS COMPUTERS TRANSLATE QUICKLY AND ACCURATELY, SOME PPL THINK THAT LEARNING A FOREIGN LANGUAGE IS A WASTE OF TIME. TO WHAT EXTENT DO U AGREE OR DISAGREE?v

It has been recently noted that the development of computer translators has become increasingly significant, leading some people argue that learning foreign languages is now unnecessary. Although such devices can be beneficial in terms of cultural exchange, I partially agree with the view, since online translators do not compensate for feelings and emotions involved in face-to-face interaction.

It is impossible to deny the role of online translators in people’s lives, especially during travel. When tourists have limited knowledge of a particular language and attempt to interact with locals, there is a high chance of using inappropriate words, which may lead to misunderstandings and in turn, arguments. However, thanks to advanced technologies and translation programs, visitors are now able to have fluent communication without having to face numerous struggles. Such an improvement can even contribute to strengthening bonds with diverse communities by exchanging ideas and traditions. When tourists visit Japan, for example, most of them are likely to use a Google Translate app either on their phones or computers, as it ensures a trouble-free travel.

Nevertheless, learning different languages offers several significant benefits that AI-powered devices cannot replace, with emotional expression being the most significant. Computer translators often lack the ability to express emotions, which is the most crucial aspect of effective communication in our world. By contrast, if an individual knows a language, they can show feelings such as sadness and happiness however they want, which contributes to keeping an interaction engaging and meaningful. Therefore, consistent usage of electronic devices for communication might not always appear as a favourable option since they might result in a loss of feelings during communication.