As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. In your opinion, what are the causes and what are the effects on both individuals and society as a whole?

As countries develop, their people increasingly tend to live as individuals and in small family units. There are several underlying causes for this phenomenon, as well as the effects on society that it leads to.

While explanations for this situation vary, most of them are rooted in people’s modern lifestyle. The rise of individualism, for instance, is one such cause. As education opportunities and social mobility improve in burgeoning societies, people become more aware of their independence and liberties. The option of living in small households to maximize freedom, as a result, would appeal to them. Moreover, another factor is the shift away from agricultural-based economies. Due to modest productivity in past rural societies, multiple generations would live under one roof to pool their resources. The increased availability of employment in industrial and service sectors vastly improves people’s income; as the need to combine supplies is no longer apparent, so does the modern household break from the mold.

The aforementioned trend has not been without its effects. It can be seen that families are immediately impacted, as the proportion of families in society declines compared to the past. Due to this, some are understandably concerned that society would not sustain population growth, leading to demographic collapse in the future. However, the additional freedom has enabled people to pursue their own interests more freely as well. Many choose to live on their own, even deferring family building to devote themselves fully to their goal, whether it be acquiring wealth, honing their craft, producing works of art, or helping the needy. These individuals can generate significant value for a country, which is why the modern development of living in small households is likely to be positive, despite the drawback.

In conclusion, while various factors contribute to the aforementioned phenomenon in developed countries, the overall impact on the community is largely beneficial. Though society’s families may be affected, the positive outcome created from such a situation may justify it in the end.