"As English becomes the global 'lingua franca,' many minority languages are dying out. Some argue this is a natural and positive progression toward global unity, while others see it as a cultural catastrophe. Discuss both sides and provide your own perspective."

The english language over the last century has become the most used ones, implying that many minor languages are disappearing . From some scholars’ perspective, English is progressively playing a central role for global unity and that’s can be beneficial to both economy and foreign relations. It can be argued that this is the natural consequence of globalisation and free markets.

In sharp contrast, some intellectuals consider this phenomenon a cultural disaster because it is cancelling all cultural peculiarities to replace them for economic or political benefits.

Why we can consider the languages’ fading away a cultural disaster? Languages , since they have existed, mirror ethical, moral, social and cultural values of a population. They are shaped to express specific cultural exigencies and they can’t be replacing by a universal language. To test this concept, we can analyse that sometimes it’s impossible to translate all language’s worlds such as it occurs in Italian for “dolce far niente” or the fat that for each language corresponds a language of the deaf.

From my perspective, it’s necessary to protect the languages’ patrimony because they are the most valued way To understand populations’ habits and roots. So even if a unique idiom can be better used to foster global unity, minor languages should be considered as world heritage.