As global trade increases, many goods, including those we use on daily basis are produced in other countries and have to be transported to long distance. Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks? Write not less than 250 words.

Due to the growing worldwide trade, assorted goods, even the ones people use every day, can be shipped from the producers to foreign nations. Personally, I believe the demerits of this new development is greater than the merits, as would be explained in this essay.

I am of the opinion that these minor advantages of conveying goods from the manufacturers to consumers in far away lands, cannot outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, it makes those products available to the final consumers. Since those items cannot be produced indigenously, and they are indispensable to the citizens who need them, the best option would be to import them, provided they are affordable. For instance, automated machines used in the banks for dispensing cash are not produced in Nigeria, but they are needed to help customers have faster access to cash while withdrawing money, therefore, Nigeria has been importing them from foreign companies despite the distance. Thus preventing not only time wastage but also overcrowded banks. Secondly, selling internationally generate capital to the owners of the industries. The aim of every manufacturer is to make profit, so if there is much gain when sales are made abroad, more of the items would be produced and supplied to places were there are wider markets. Furthermore, the governments also charge export taxes from ware transported to overseas, thereby, increasing the country’s foreign reserve.

However, despite the above minor gains from international trade, I think the negative effect is heavier than the positive side because it causes spoilage. Due to distance, those things for sale are sometimes stacked inside containers in cargo ships, which spend months on the seas before getting to the final consumers. Hence, goods arrive spoiled or expired, especially if they are consumables. Over dependence economy is another negative effect. Unless the leadership of the nations that depend on importation have strong and viable ways of building up their foreign reserve, their economy may collapse. Consequently, increasing unemployment. For example, The lack industries in Nigeria has resulted to rise in crime rate. A situation that the government, despite its efforts, has not been able to bring under control. Most Nigerians do not feel safe again, even during the day because of high rate of crime caused by unemployment. Moreso, most of the indigenous skilled workers, who have opportunities to migrate are now leaving in large numbers to work overseas due to lack of jobs at home.

In conclusion, although increased profits and making items accessible to foreign consumers are the advantages of exportation, I argue that spoilage and over- dependence economy, which are the disadvantages, are greater than benefits.