As housing is a basic need for people, government should provide free housing for everyone who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many people are struggling to find a place to stay. In fact, many people believe free housing should be provided for everyone who cannot afford it. I firmly disagree with this opinion.

Firstly, if governments started to provide free housing to everyone who is struggling, it would not be sustainable. Indeed, in the initial period of the solution, it might seem a good idea. However, after the initial period, people could not push themselves to earn more money. They could become less and less productive because what they need is already given to them. Furthermore, laziness could push people to rely on the government and some of them could even quit their jobs and become unemployed.

Moreover, the government’s funds are not unlimited. If the government started to provide too much housing, it would spend less money on other needs, such as healthcare, education or public transportation. Thus, this would lead to even more problems for the society. For example, by investing less money in healthcare, people wouldn’t benefit from the latest medical devices, which are necessary for the right diagnosis and the best treatment.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree that governments should provide free housing for people in need because people would probably take advantage of that and because the funds are limited. Instead, governments could help those who are struggling by finding new jobs for them.