As large shopping chains expand, many local stores are unable to compete and close. What are the reasons for this? What actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Local stores has always been competing with large shopping chains, yet the competition is never mutual. Local stores see shopping chains as a threat, while the latter could not care any less about the former. No matter how big a local store has become, it will always lose sales when a famous shopping chain is built nearby. The reason for this is the fact that shopping chains already have a name that are familiar with people. The name of a certain shopping chain has gained the trust of numerous customers. Secondly, shopping chains mass produce their product meaning that they have a cheap production cost. Local stores still produce their items handmade which is not only more expensive, but also time consuming.

Although the expansion of shopping chains seems beneficial to customers, local stores are suffering the most. One solution to this problem is a collaboration or merger between shopping chains and local shops. When a shopping chain wishes to expand to a certain area, they can collaborate with a local shop to give each item a local touch. They will still sell their regular items, but locally handmade products will be included well. Another solution is for a local store to sell products that are unique to that store. If a local store makes a product that varies greatly from that of shopping chains, customers would surely be enticed to make a purchase.

In conclusion, local stores and large shopping chains should not always be competitors. It would be very beneficial for both sides to collaborate from time to time. Not only will local stores stay open, but shopping chains will also interest more customers with locally handmade products. However, if a collaboration is not possible, then local stores should be more creative with their products.