As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalisation. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity.

People often mention that with the development of communication systems, globalization is becoming an important matter. Globalization’s effect on the loss of cultural identity is unavoidable. While I think it may cause some issues with the culture of people, most of society can preserve its cultural identification.

On the one hand, there are consequences of globalization such as a unique global identity. This unique identity is generated from different nations. Human beings will adapt to new traditions with time since there will be new traditions from different cultures. The result is that some nations will lose their identity, and this is an unchangeable part of the process which is called globalization.

On the other hand, as there are more connections among people, nations are also able to promote their native cultures, which means it is not a loss; nonetheless, it is a gain. For example, everyone can advertise his or her nation in a different country, so it means that the culture becomes more popular. Additionally, there are some nations which are highly connected to their roots. They would not even think of changing their cultures, even though globalization becomes a thing. Even though countries become more closely connected by the increased power of transportation, some countries still conserve their heritages. For instance, East countries like Japan and China have a different culture for eating. They use chopsticks for sushi, which is a tradition that belongs only to them.

In conclusion, while I think some cultures can be lost because of globalization, it is also a great tool to advertise your heritage.