As more and more information is available online, the role of textbooks has become obsolete. Therefore, universities should replace traditional books with digital materials. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary epoch, more and more information is found online, making printed books become outdated. In that context, there arises a trend for universities to use digital books instead of traditional books. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I would argue that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are several drawbacks that students can encounter when using ebooks. Firstly, it can affect badly to student’s health because if students usually use online books, their eyes contact with blue light from digital supplies. Therefore, they can face some eye problems such as short-sightedness. Besides, it can have detrimental impacts on their work performance since not only do digital books have studying materials, but it also includes many things causing distraction. Consequently, students can not comprehensively attract their learning.

On the other hand, I believe that these advantages are clearly outweighed by many advantages and one reason for this is that students can save their time. Only by using ebooks, can students take advantage of searching tools in online material in order to find knowledge which they want. Hence, they can save much time because they only type key words they want and software will find the area in books containing it automatically. Another reason is that online books are very user-friendly with students since all studying materials can be saved in small light memory cards in electrical supplies. Therefore, insteading of bringing all the thick weighty traditional books, they only bring a smartphone and also open materials everytime and anywhere they want.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that the preference of using digital books has its own benefits and drawbacks. Despite all the disadvantages, I believe it has more advantages for students, with the most visible ones being positive impacts on saving their time and its convenience.