As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factor contributes to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Occupational satisfaction has a profound impact on people’s well-being because men and women dedicate a significant amount of their time to their work during their adulthood. Money and leisure time are the primary factors that enable professional fulfillment in terms of employees, and job satisfaction is an unrealistic phenomenon for many white-collar in the private sector.

Money is one of the requisite factors of job satisfaction. In other words, enough financial reward compensates for situations people struggle at work. Because individuals achieve higher welfare thanks to money and carry on doing their jobs without complaints. Another indispensable component of work contentment is enough free time. This is because individuals work under a huge strain at their work and desire plentiful downtime to get rid of their stress. For example, in Turkey, teachers are doing their jobs contentedly because their work ends at around 3:00 pm, thus they can allocate some time to their personal work.

Job satisfaction is not valid for all kinds of workers. It is a result of the fact that the vast majority of them have to perform their work under challenging conditions. That is to say, people who are employed in the private sector have to forsake most of their fundamental rights, working more than 10 hours a day, invisible workload, or no off days in a week, otherwise they can be fired . For example, in Turkey, many office workers search for new job opportunities because they spend half of their days at work.

In conclusion, people are usually grateful when they have a high salary and enough free time for their families or hobbies; however, due to the unbearable working conditions, employees who work in the private sector are not satisfied with their work.