As schools around the world debate the safety of in-person education during health emergencies, should they be allowed to mandate vaccinations for students in order to attend classes, or does this infringe upon a family's right to make healthcare decisions for their children?

The question of whether students should be required to be vaccinated has become increasingly contentious as schools around the world grapple with health emergencies. On the one hand, making vaccinations mandatory makes learning conditions safer and lessens the chance of disease outbreaks. On one side, there are those who argue that such mandates infringe on a parent’s right to make health care decisions for their child. Schools should require students to be vaccinated because it prevents disease outbreaks, safeguards vulnerable populations, and ensures a safe learning environment for all. Therefore, I agree with the statement about vaccinating school learners to prevent spreading disease.

Any outbreak from over the world in the past began from a lack of vaccination, which is one compelling reason to require vaccinations is to protect public health. Apart from society, students are in close proximity to one another, making schools a high-risk environment for the spread of infectious disease. Evolving vaccines help to reduce outbreaks of measles, polio, and influenza, according to the World Health Organization (WHO). Unvaccinated students, if any, not only endanger themselves, they put their fellow students, their teachers, and their families at risk. Mandatory vaccinations are preventable from these outbreaks that have caused safer learning environments.

Immunization mandates are critical for attaining herd immunity, which means immunity in a large fraction of the population is vaccinated and the vaccine-driven immunization decreases and subsequent spreading of the disease. Some students—those with suppressed immune systems or serious allergies, for example—cannot get vaccinated for medical reasons. They depend on herd immunity for protection. Without widespread vaccination, these susceptible students are at increased risk of developing potentially fatal diseases. Schools have a responsibility to keep all students safe, and those vaccine mandates help protect no students from unnecessary exposure to preventable diseases.

On the other hand, when it comes to vaccination in schools or universities, parents should have the right to make the best decision for their children. They argue that mandatory vaccinations infringe on individual liberties and bodily autonomy. Some parents worry about the safety of vaccines and potential side effects and simply don’t believe in their effectiveness, even though extensive science supports that they have been proven effective and safe for decades.Even so, parental rights must not come at the cost of public health. Schools already have health requirements in place, like required physical exams and disease screenings, to protect students. Vaccination mandates serve a greater societal good as well. What’s more, most vaccine policies include medical—and in some cases, religious—exemptions, striking a reasonable compromise between personal choice and the public good. Hence, parents have the right whether their child has been vaccinated or not should not depend on unnecessary concerns.

In conclusion, schools have the permission to provide vaccinations on their students for public health reasons and protection for vulnerable populations. Although individual rights are important, they need to be balanced with the well-being of society as a whole. Vaccination has long been an important method of controlling infectious diseases, and as institutions, schools have an obligation to preserve an environment in which every student can learn safely.” Mandatory vaccinations are a necessary means to be upheld in order to protect the health of the public.