As schools around the world debate the safety of in-person education during health emergencies, should they be allowed to mandate vaccinations for students in order to attend classes, or does this infringe upon a family's right to make healthcare decisions for their children?

The difference in opinion on the topic of whether, during the pandemic, to ensure the safety of offline education, the school authority has the right to make decisions such as compulsory vaccination, or it only belongs to the parents to make a child’s health decisions, has sparked much debate. As a matter of public safety, it is the responsibility of schools to impose such precautions that ensure a safe environment. Due to this aspect of the scenario, I firmly agree with the initial statement supporting institutions to make decisions.

To begin with, in the past few years, the world has witnessed various health-related risks such as Covid-19, and during those periods, many organizations, including schools and workplaces, had implemented different safety procedures in order to control the spread. When considering the case of schools, conducting the lectures offline at school is quite challenging in such circumstances, especially as the size of the community involved increases the chances of physical contact with each other. As in-person training is more valuable for students to attain proper attention and support in curricular activities, schools can only conduct classes by following certain rules and regulations related to health protocols. For instance, the strict rule on wearing masks in schools regardless of personal preferences was another effective instruction of schools, and that helps a lot to protect individuals from diseases.

Moreover, incorporating rules such as mandatory vaccination is not designed for personal benefits; it is something that developed for the safety of the entire community under the organization. It is the responsibility of each student to follow that rule as a member of the institution, and it reflects the commitments towards their peers. In addition, every institution usually has a code of conduct that mentions the privileges of schools to make necessary guidelines in the event of any health emergency, and students have to mark their acknowledgment while taking admission. All these facilitate the school’s liberty to install safety-related rules.

To sum up, despite the reality that parents are the rightful people to set medical decisions for their kids, in certain contexts like pandemic schools have the entitlement to recommend precautions. This is not indicating extensive control over a child’s medical conditions, but something to ensure the safety of the entire community.