As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Access to information is easier than ever before thanks to the Internet. Naturally, more and more people would seek resources on various topics not in a library but on the computer for two main reasons: on the one hand, search engines like Google speed up the process of acquiring relevant data to miliseconds as opposed to hours. At the same time paper copies come with a number of constraints such as availability, access etc. This essay will discuss the medium of newspapers in this context and their anachronic quality in the modern world.

I am currently writing this exam on a computer and my results will be automatically sent out to the university of my choice in 3-5 days from now. Had I opted for a written exam, I would have had to wait for up to four times this amount of time. This only goes to show that digital formats almost always prove to be a more convenient and cost-efficient for a variety of consumers: from institutions like the IELTS exam bodies to everyday people like me.

To relate this example to newspapers: in order to inform myself on current events, I am most likely to search the key words in my browser and receive the most relevant articles in less than a second. A newspaper is not only physically less accessible, but also comes with the disadvantage of providing only a selection of articles that might not include my own interests. On top of that I would need to pay for them.

In conclusion, newspapers are a physical medium and as such they are less accessible and convenient for everyday people and as such they are likely to vanish.