As the world becomes increasingly globalized, some people feel that local cultures are being lost. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people consider that globalization demolishes local cultures. Although a lot of people deny this idea, but I am strongly in favor of this viewpoint, as globalization undermines local values, and causes to cultural homogenization.

First of all, It is widely believed and accepted that globalization makes people feel connected, however it also plays a pivotal role in destroying people’s sense of belonging, which is immediately in tight relationships with undermining local values.

As different countries offer tourists various cultures, they start to forget about their own cultural traditions while live in or travel to other countries. According to statistics, about 70% of people who live in multicultural societies mix the traditions of every culture and gradually lose what is their own.

On the other hand, cultural homogenization is one of the phenomena that is reinforced by globalization. People start to have one and only one common collective value, which is not considered acceptable due to the disrespect to history. People begin to listen to the same songs, watch the same movies and films, read the same books, and finally think in the same ways, which destroys cultural diversity. Moreover, it also makes people follow popular culture and have similar tastes and dislikes.

For all these reasons, I strongly disagree with this statement, as globalization is considered a serious threat to cultural diversity and people’s sense of belonging, which leads to the loss of local culture and national identity, and created a fake atmosphere in which all people have the same or similar tastes.