As the world becomes technologically advanced, computers are replacing more and more jobs. Describe some job positions that may be lost because of computers, and discuss at least one problem that may result.

Computers are taking more and more jobs as they are built more advanced. Although it may seem to make our jobs easier by tirelessly and effortlessly working on numerous repetitive jobs, it surely causes a problem as it replaces more and more people in the workforce. This is one of the side effects of applying such high technology in our lifeline.

Computers indeed took some of the labor force’s work due to their cheaper cost of operations, no need to be given leave, and could operate anytime and anywhere as the power line was still available. However, it does not necessarily or blatantly remove all jobs in the career world. There are some conditions of some jobs that are favored to be done by computers or more advanced technology than others because those jobs involve a lot of repetitive acts that could make the man doing it become easier to be overwhelmed. Hence, it increases the risk of being overtaken by the computers. On the other hand, there are several jobs that are hard to be substituted by computers as those involve more creativity and a sense of art.

There are some examples of occupations that potentially be substituted by computers. One example is the cleaning personnel. A cleaner’s job that involves cleaning a room, or toilet, or mopping the floor, now be done effortlessly by employing a robot. It significantly improves cleanliness and can be deployed at any time of the day. It also can carry multiple tools to do various cleaning tasks, such as vacuuming, mopping, or even polishing. A practical example of the deployment of a robot cleaner is in some stations of the Singapore MRT. Every station at least has one robot cleaner that can be operated at any time of the day by the station staff. Another example is a ticket seller. During the first days of the operation of the Singapore MRT, the authority still employed a number of staff to be stationed as a ticket seller. Nowadays, they already substituted by a vending machine that uses a computer behind it to sell or top up their subway tickets.

Although computers might seem overwhelmingly take a lot of jobs, there exist some occupations that rarely could get substituted by them. Theather artists, painters, singers, or anyone working in the entertainment industry are the examples. People appreciate the artwork of those artists that resulted straight from their creativities. It technically could be substituted by computers, but the art sense or touches behind it can not. People will less appreciate a song generated by artificial intelligence or a painting painted by robots as it will have no souls or creative representation inside it.

In the end, computers surely could endanger some jobs that have repetitive actions and less art value on it. In some populous countries where its citizens need a job to meet their things like in Indonesia, it certainly will spark unemployment problems. However, it also could push a limit on how humankind would go beyond themselves, such as an underwater UAV that can assist the search and rescue mission in the middle of a strong current ocean for example. The employment of computers in some job positions indeed benefited the industries or occupations that did repetitive acts as it could be done more effectively and accurately. At the same time, the government should also regulate the use of computers within every job to ensure that they will not pose higher consequences to the job market.