Because of the Covid-19 pandemic and its economic impacts on everyone, the higher education sector has discussed the possibility of reducing the tuition fee for its students. Some support such an idea, others do not. Do you agree or disagree?

The Covid pandemic has brought about many downgrades because of its tremendous impact on the economy and education, especially educational fees. Many people support the idea of reducing tuition fees for students; however, I believe that is not a wise option for certain reasons.

It is undeniable that reducing tuition fees has its own merits. Lowering the cost for education is going to lessen the financial burden on parents, since the average income of many people have decreased noticeably during the pandemic compared to before. Not only will parents have to worry less about their children’s tuition, but students from financially-disadvantaged backgrounds will also have better chances at getting proper education. This will encourage more people to study, resulting in a more skilled and professional workforce – especially those that come from remote and mountainous areas of Vietnam.

Having said that, people will have more budget to spend on everyday life’s necessities at the expense of affecting education workers’ life. This follows / entails that getting educated plays a crucial role in ensuring a prosperous future of a nation, which makes taking away the livelihood of educators unwise under any circumstances. Additionally, lowering study costs can be detrimental to both teaching and learning quality. (According to a national news outlet,) Vietnamese teachers are confirmed to have one of the lowest base incomes across all sectors throughout the country. Given the fact that teachers will have to fulfill the similar workload compared to face-to-face ones, reducing tuition fee will inevitably decrease the morale of teachers and educators. Thus, they are less likely to put effort into making classes captivating for learners, which in return discourages students from capitalizing on their chances at gaining knowledge.

Summing up, from my perspective, lowering the cost of education is not plausible. Even though there are certain upsides, the negative effects far outweigh the positive ones.