Behaviour in schools is getting worse. Explain the cause of this problem and suggest some possible solutions.

In this day and age, students tend to behave badly at school. There are several causes of this alarming trend, but measures could certainly be taken to tackle this problem.

In my opinion, two main factors are to be blamed for the way young people behave at school nowadays. Firstly, modern parents tend to be too lenient or permissive. Many children become accustomed to getting whatever they want, and they find it difficult to accept the demands of teachers or the limits imposed on them by school rules. Secondly, many schools lack disciplines and structures that monitor pupils’ behaviors. For instance, students feel free to show disrespectful behavior such as using phones, eating and hurling verbal abuse with their teacher which leads to lacking respect.

Students’ behavior can certainly be improved. I believe that the change must start from parents, who play an important role to set up the development of children. When children misbehave or break the rules, parents should take actions to deter their children and take responsibility for their children’s behavior. In addition, schools could play an important role in training so schools need clear rules and codes of conduct which can help teachers have the power to punish disruptive students and give students a harsh punishment if they misbehaved.

In a nutshell, while there are evident reasons that bring about this phenomenon, I believe that great efforts from family and schools are necessary to change the bad behavior of pupils in recent years.