Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Pollution has become a constantly discussed topic these days as extensive climate change is being experienced globally. Pollutants released by vehicles are the major contributing factor to extreme changes in the climate, therefore to prepare for a safer future countries must spend to develop their transport systems and also decrease the cost of fares to make these transport facilities more appealing to their public. This is my opinion and in this essay I will discuss the reasons for it.

Governments must choose to invest vastly in building highways and railways as this is the predominant mode of transport used by their citizens in the absence of their own transport. Constructing better roads and railways systems with sufficient buses and trains that are regularly available will allow the travellers to shift to buses and trains over their personal cars. This will reduce the number of vehicles in the environment, as a result the quantity of greenhouse gases released to the atmosphere will diminish. Greenhouse gases are responsible for trapping the heat energy of the sun on earth which in turn elevates the earth’s temperature leading to global warming. Moreover, this will lower air pollution as well which is the culprit of various respiratory and ocular diseases. For example, when the amount of harmful substances in the atmosphere is decreased, fewer people will get sick. Consequently, hospital visitations for treatment of respiratory and eye illnesses will fall and majority of the population will be at work assisting in the financial growth of the country.

Finally, bringing down the value of travel fares can be another strategy utilised to diminish the toxic substances produced by several vehicles. Take for instance, a family with many members will find it economical to take the bus or the train to go to work and drop their children off at school if the tickets are sold at a reasonable price. This will enable them to save money by not having their own vehicle and spending for fuel. Lower fares will encourage the society to rely on the national modes of transport consequently owning a car will become unnecessary and the atmosphere will be protected from pollutants.

In summary, greenhouse gases and toxic elements produced by burning fossil fuels in automobiles lead to global warming and drastic climate changes, in addition to causing respiratory and ocular illnesses. When states increase funding to enhance public transportation and lower the ticket costs, their citizens will eventually start using buses and trains instead of owning cars. This will immensely decrease the polluted air in the atmosphere, as a result our environment will be cleaner and safer for us and our future generations. This is why I strongly support this opinion.