Both men and women these days work full-time, so it is logical for them to share household chores equally. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that expresses approval of the equal distribution of domestic chores, as both men and women in modern societies are working full-time. From my perspective, I totally agree with this mentality due to the fall of conventional gender roles and stereotypes, not to mention the fact that advanced gadgets offer easier ways to do housework.

Humankind has undergone lengthy periods of innovation and enlightenment regarding mindsets to conclude that the traditional approach to gender-based responsibilities should no longer be strictly adhered to. With the success of international feminist movements, forced stay-at-home wives and the idea that women should obey their male relatives are highly frowned upon. Though a portion of the population still sticks to conservative thinking, it is a common fact that such implications are discriminatory against the human rights of women and their free will to utilize their potentialities. As a result, sharing household chores is a better way of marriage, not to mention that full-time jobs of women take away just as much energy as those of men. For instance, the international online community has shown great disapproval of the case of the Ballerina Farm, in which the housewife, a mother of eight, received little respect and affection from her supposedly provider husband.

In addition to gender equality in terms of chores, the advancement of technology has offered a hand in handling domestic work, making it easier and quicker to be accomplished. Thus, there is apparently no appropriate excuse for either males or females to avoid their at-home duties, including cooking, cleaning, or taking care of children. Labor-saving devices such as microwaves, kettles, washing machines, brooms, or mops of more efficient designs are on display with affordable prices, meaning households of various socioeconomic backgrounds can afford and make use of them. Consequently, as women are becoming more present in the workplace together with the assistance of modern domestic gadgets, it is not only reasonable for spouses to share household chores, but it also is a way to show respect, understanding, and care towards one another, which greatly contribute to a marriage.

In conclusion, with more and more women building their own careers just as men, there should be no questions asked in regards to the equal sharing of housework. Moreover, one should acknowledge the physical and mental differences between men and women so as to designate the suitable tasks to each gender.