Business leaders, government officials, and academics are focusing more and more attention on the concept of "corporate social responsibility" (CSR). The central issue is the appropriate role of business, which includes legal compliance, and additional moral or social responsibilities. May firms sacrifice profits to benefit individuals other than their shareholders?

The concept of corporate social responsibility (CSR) has increasingly become a subject of debate among business managers, politicians, and scholars. The proper function of corporations, one of the most significant concerns, encompasses legal compliance and further moral or social obligations. This has led to a question of whether businesses might sacrifice their profits to benefit individuals rather than the shareowners. Personally, I do not completely agree with this opinion and will present my views in this essay.

On the one hand, supporting CSR can help contribute to long-term business success. First of all, engaging in social practices builds a good rapport among customers, employees, and the public. Many consumers today prefer to buy from companies that regard ethical issues, particularly about the environment. As evidence, a survey conducted by IBM in 2020 found that nearly 80% of consumers say sustainable development is important to them, and 57% are willing to change their shopping habits to reduce environmental impacts. Furthermore, this can enhance brand awareness, and over time, companies that adopt CSR strategies often gain a competitive edge in markets where sustainability and ethical values are highly respected.

Nevertheless, giving up profits to prioritize CSR can conflict with a company’s main goal to maximize the returns for investors, according to traditional economic theories. When a business spends too much on CSR initiatives, it might considerably reduce short-term profits and unwittingly give its competitors an opportunity. Additionally, a heavy emphasis on CSR might result in inefficiencies. If market forces negatively vary, these organizations may find it difficult to continue. The Body Shop in the early 2000s is a clear example, whose companies faced declining profits and struggled to compete in the market, ultimately losing their sales in front of L’Oréal.

In my opinion, CSR should be a balanced approach, which means that companies should integrate social responsibility without abandoning profitability. For instance, investing in sustainable technologies such as renewable energy, recycling, vertical farming and so on can lead to cost savings over time while simultaneously improving the environment. Besides, governments should also encourage CSR but allow businesses the resilience to optimize their sales.

To conclude, although focusing on CSR is a great method to raise brand awareness and satisfy ethical obligations, it brings certain detrimental impacts as I have mentioned above. Businesses, therefore, should execute this strategy with balance and flexibility in order not to reduce their profits and the shareholders’ interests.