Buying things on the internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary society, purchasing consumer goods and services, particularly books, flight bookings, and groceries are experiencing increased popularity. While this phenomenon offers several merits, there are also some demerits that are worth considering. I believe that advantages like enhancements to consumer experience are more critical than disadvantages.

A potential drawback of online purchasing is the risk of financial fraud. While buying through e-commerce platforms, types of deception go beyond scams to fake reviews about the products. For instance, accepted products might not match the description or the websites where consumers bought the tickets might be created by fraudsters. Scammers try to extort money by sending fake messages about unpaid bills. Another notable concern is lack of physical inspection, as while customers are shopping online they cannot touch, try or test the products in order to know its quality, size or taste. An example of this is clothing items, after receiving they might not fit the customer’s size or their materials might be below acceptable standards.

A key strength of online shopping lies in convenience and time-saving as online platforms are accessible regardless of time and place, whereby with the assistance of e-commerce applications and websites, purchasers do not need to go outside to shop, this not only conserves time and energy, but also helps to save the transportation expenses. In addition, online retail services are highly beneficial for busy professionals, elderly people, remote communities and women with newborns as they save time and effort, allowing busy professionals to shop without disrupting work schedules. They provide elderly people and people in remote communities with easy access to products that may be difficult to obtain locally. Additionally, they offer mothers with newborns the convenience of purchasing essential items from home.

Another compelling advantages of online retail services are accessibility, the wider range of options and affordable prices because they provide consumers with a greater variety of reasonably priced products manufactured in different countries. This can be seen in the case of e-commerce platforms available in my country, Uzbekistan such as Alibaba, Taobao, Wildberries, Pinduoduo, Uzum market. With the assistance of them locals can buy not only domestic products but also international goods by comparing prices and quality.

To sum up, Despite the fact that there are some drawbacks of online shopping such as financial fraud and lack of physical inspection, I firmly believe that the benefits of e-commerce like accessibility, increased diversity of choices, time and energy efficiency are far more significant.