Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Many cities are “one big traffic jam” because of the sharp increase in car ownership over the past thirty years. Even though this situation seems to stem from several factors such as population growth or lack of public transportation, there are, in my opinion, feasible solutions including an increase in fuel taxes to discourage citizens from using their cars.

On the one hand, there are several pieces of evidence that why this information should be true. According to the research, many cities have experienced significant population growth over recent years which led them to maximize demand for transportation. Another issue that might cause “one big jam” can be the deficiency of the public transportation system, forcing people to be more dependent on private vehicles than usual. This means they do have not enough vehicles excluding cars: buses and trains. For example, Maybe it is because our city is considered one of the most populated, Whenever I come back from the course, I see dense congestion in my city, giving the challenges for automobiles.

On the other hand, there are some ways to deter citizens from using their cars which can be done by the government. First, this phenomenon can be solved by educating citizens about the environmental and health impacts of excessive car use. Another thing that I need to mention is that this challenge can effortlessly be tackled by raising the fuel taxes as people would not have the desire to pay more money than normal, which means they would use their cars when it is actually needed. For instance, a guy named Jim uses his car to go anywhere from a nearby market to a further destination. If there is an announcement about which price of fuel is increased, he will definitely stop using his car unpurposely.

In conclusion, congestion which is caused by the increase in car possession can be attributed to overpopulation and shortage of public transportation systems, involving education and maximizing the fuel taxes, in my perspective, plays an integral role in solving this issue.