CDo you think this is a positive or a negative development?

People tend to shift a lot across the country, looking for better standard of living. Moving from countryside to city in order to live a good life style is understandable, but this has lead to under population in rural areas and over population in urban cities. I would argue that this shift is a negative development considering the fact that the cities are becoming over crowded, traffic is increasing on the road leading to more pollution and natural resources available for our use is deplishing.

Urbanized area offers more facilities and opportunities, this belief among the population has resulted in to more and more people preferring to stay in the developed areas. However, this has caused congestion in one particular area whereas the remaining peripheral areas remain vacant.

People commute to distance places within the city for work. In order to make their travel convenient, everyone opts to own vehicle, resulting in an increase in the traffic on the motor ways. The emission of the gases from their motor bikes or cars in turn pollutes the air meaning the air quality degrades, causing number of health problems. For instance, Oshawa, a town in durham region in Ontario province was marked as a calm and comforting place to live in. But after the openig of Durham college, students along with their parents shifted to be in the college and now the town which used to be peaceful ones upon a time is now congested and chaotic.

Apart from the above listed drawbacks, even the amount of water available for drinking purpose, the fresh air to breath and organic food to eat is decreasing because the natural resources and organic food available is not sufficient for supplying the needs for such huge number of people residing in the cities.

In conclusion, following a trend of moving out of the country side has raised a concern. Looking at the problem of overpopulation, damage to the environment and degradation in the quality of air and water, I believe that this shift is not beneficial.