Children are now watching more television than they have ever done before. What are some of the negative effects of children watching a lot of television? Do you think young children should be allowed to watch television?

Due to busy work schedule of parents, they are not able to play with their children, so the children nowadays are involved in watching television more than they have done ever before. This essay will discuss some negative effective of this habit, and also provide my opinion.

The negative effects of children watching excessive television are they become less physically active and their academic performance decreases. Additionally, it is also harmful for their eyesight. Children involved more in watching television would also have problem in social skills and focus. Too much screen time take away their time from reading, learning new skill, and playing with their friends.

In my opinion, young children should be restricted from watching television for long hours. They should be allowed to watch television only for limited time. They should also be limited to certain channels as there are several shows related to crime, drugs and other criminal activities. Young children are not emotionally ready to comprehend all this crimes, and unknowingly they may get influenced to be involved criminal activities.

In my opinion, watching television for long period has various negative effects. In order to reduce such effect, children should be restricted to watch limited television channels. Also they should be be given limited time to watch the television.